When Godly People Act Ungodly: Explaining The Hypocrisy In Christianity

What are YOU lookin' at?!!!

Before I saw the light and became saved (See my other post, “What Is The Path To God?”), I witnessed a lot of hypocrisy in religion.  There were people who claimed to be Christian that committed adultery, stole, lied, used bad language, and was prideful, greedy, and lustful, to name a few.  I thought to myself, “What do I want with Christianity or any religion, for that matter, if this is what it produces?!!”

So maybe you are someone who is skeptical about Christianity, like I was.  Maybe you were raised religious like my wife, who was raised Catholic, and became disenchanted with the Catholic Church, because of what she was exposed to or the hypocrisies that she witnessed.  Or maybe you were treated or judged unfairly at your last church?  Unfortunately, all religions are flawed to some extent!  All religions are operationally flawed, which means that inevitably people’s feelings will be hurt, ideas/opinions/suggestions ignored, and actions judged, leading to personal conflict and periods of perceived chaos.  But some religions are also theologically flawed!  At least bible-based Christianity is not theologically flawed! 

There are two crucial principles that you have to consider when witnessing the hypocrisies in Christianity and trying to formulate your opinions:

1.    God is not flawed, even though humans, who run the church and religious worship, are. 

2.    We are sinners.  It is in our nature.  And even if you are saved, there is always a war inside you between the flesh and the Holy Spirit that dwells within you.  Therefore, man’s error should not be reflected on God’s image. 

Let me explain both in more detail.  The first principle is that God is not flawed.  He is perfect.  So do not base your opinions about God, His Word or His house of worship, on the humans who interpret His Word and run His house of worship.  If you had a bad experience in the past, just go and visit as many bible-based churches and different Christian denominations it takes to find the one that feels like home, where you are spiritually fed and you can feel God’s love around you!  One bad church or pastor is like going to a bad doctor; just because you went to one bad doctor does not mean they are all bad.

The other principle is that, yes, we are all sinners, even if you are saved.  Being saved does not change your nature.  It only changes your desire to be more like Christ.  So, godly people DO act ungodly at times.  We all fall.  We all make mistakes.  And just because someone is saved, doesn’t mean that he/she won’t slip back into their old habits or tendencies.   It doesn’t mean his/her sin is ok either!  But the beauty of it is that if we repent our sins and ask God for His forgiveness, He will grant it.  Because in Numbers 14:18, it states, “The Lord is slow to anger and filled with unfailing love, forgiving every kind of sin and rebellion.” 

So if you have written-off Christianity based on the mistakes made by Christians, can you imagine what our world would be like if that way of thinking applied to other areas of life? For example, can you imagine your parents/coaches/teachers giving up on you, because you made mistakes?  Would you feel that their judgment was fair?  Or what if they made a generalization that all boys can’t read and all girls can’t learn math, based on a few children who performed poorly in reading and math?  It doesn’t make sense.

If God can forgive our sins, mistakes and shortcomings, shouldn’t we forgive those who fall?  You can forgive the person, but hate the sin!  Therefore, the mistakes made by Christians should not be held against God, His Word or Christianity.  Being a Christian does not equate to being perfect.  But it does mean that they are striving to be more perfect, like Christ, and that God is working on them to glorify Him.  So rethink your opinions about God and Christianity.  Having gone through this process of doubt and spiritual searching myself, I know that all you need to change your opinion is to find the right bible-based church, pastor and church members to make you realize what I am writing is true.  Believe me, there is nothing better than finding a good pastor, who is wise and can teach you about the Bible; a loving and supportive church family to encourage you; and a warm church to worship and praise our heavenly Father!  I hope this helps clear up some of your questions and I pray that you will find your way!

God bless,

Bro. Mackie

15 responses to “When Godly People Act Ungodly: Explaining The Hypocrisy In Christianity

  1. What i don’t understood is actually how you are not actually much more well-liked than you may be right now. You’re so intelligent. You realize thus considerably relating to this subject, made me personally consider it from a lot of varied angles. Its like women and men aren’t fascinated unless it’s one thing to accomplish with Lady gaga! Your own stuffs excellent. Always maintain it up!

  2. Thanks , I’ve just been searching for info about this topic for ages and yours is the best I’ve discovered till now. But, what about the conclusion? Are you sure about the source?

    • I’m sorry. I am not sure what you mean by, “Are you sure about the source?” So, I will answer to the best of my ability. Yes, I am sure about God. He is perfect. And yes, I am sure that we are all sinners, no matter how much “good works” we do. And yes, finding the right Pastor, church members and church make the whole difference in your walk with Christ! We all need a spiritual teacher or shepard to help us understand God’s word. And the bible tells us that He wants us to fellowship with other Christians, so what better place to worship Him than in His house! At one time, I was so jaded by the “church” that I was a spiritual maverick/nomad/renegade, but it affected and slowed down my spiritual growth! I hope this helps. If you have more questions, please post them. I would be more than happy to share my perspective. God bless you!

  3. hi!,I like your writing very much! share we communicate more about your article on AOL? I need an expert on this area to solve my problem. Maybe that’s you! Looking forward to see you.

  4. Thanks for another informative web site. Where else could I get that kind of info written in such an ideal way? I’ve a project that I am just now working on, and I have been on the look out for such information.

  5. I loved as much as you will receive carried out right here. The sketch is tasteful, your authored material stylish. nonetheless, you command get bought an edginess over that you wish be delivering the following. unwell unquestionably come further formerly again as exactly the same nearly very often inside case you shield this hike.

  6. I’m not sure why but this site is loading very slow for me. Is anyone else having this issue or is it a issue on my end? I’ll check back later and see if the problem still exists.

  7. I have read some good stuff here. Certainly worth bookmarking for revisiting. I surprise how much effort you put to make such a fantastic informative site.

  8. I actually wanted to jot down a message to express gratitude to you for some of the great information you are sharing at this website. My long internet research has now been compensated with incredibly good content to write about with my two friends. I ‘d express that most of us site visitors actually are undoubtedly blessed to live in a remarkable community with many perfect individuals with very helpful solutions. I feel very much blessed to have come across your web pages and look forward to so many more cool times reading here. Thanks again for all the details.

  9. Thanks for your whole work on this website. My daughter really loves making time for internet research and it is easy to understand why. My partner and i know all about the powerful method you convey invaluable tactics through your web site and therefore boost contribution from some other people on the concern and our favorite child is certainly discovering a lot of things. Enjoy the remaining portion of the year. You are performing a pretty cool job.

  10. you are really a good webmaster. The website loading speed is amazing. It seems that you are doing any unique trick. Also, The contents are masterwork. you have done a magnificent job on this topic!

Leave a Reply

